Goin’ Places

Where do you write?

I have that question in mind because lately I have not been able to write in my home at all . I feel like there is always someone lurking around the corner waiting for me to begin writing so that they can say something , do something or just interrupt me for no reason with a dancing cat video , a problem that has nothing to do with me or something else that is #trending. I , in short , live with the goddamn human equivalent to Facebook just waiting for me to attempt to be productive.

productivity-without-the-internet  So I have been finding it much easier and more work inducing to head to the local coffee house ( I am full of shit here, I wish I could tell you I was heading to a  little hipster spot in the city called “The Beans Talk” or ” Veni-Vidi-Venti” but I am talking about Starbucks . There. I am soulless. ) and there I can usually find the strength and motivation to write something . But at the end of the day I feel like this negates part of the point of being a freelance writer. I a supposed to be one of those people that get to live in pajamas and never have to shower if I don’t want to because I am one of the luck people that work from home. This is not so when you can not , if fact , work FROM home.

How do you combat this? How do I ?

I am trying some tips that I located online .

  1.  Distinguish between your work-space and domestic space.
  2. working time is for work tasks, not chores or entertainment
  3.  You still need “office hours”
  4. track my time to see how much am I really spending on working, and how many breaks am I taking.
  5.  You also still need an “office space”.
  6. Keep your work zone clean and clutter free.

There is a difference between working from home and being at home. Now … If I can get the rest of the internet to leave me alone.

One thought on “Goin’ Places

  1. I disconnect my laptop from the internet and work in a word doc. I know…DRASTIC! But it works. I also live with some humans who just LOVE it when I get my writing face on. Suddenly they remember all they things they needed me to do for them. Boundaries. Boundaries, boundaries, boundaries. THIS is my writing time, do not cross, pass go, etc. I track words, not time, but that is based on what I am writing. And a little classical music is something I find helpful. I don’t actually like classical music but it helps drown everything else out and also helps signify that boundary. Best of luck!

Oh you know you have SOMETHING you want to say!

